Musical Mode

A major scale has seven modes, each mode has a Greek name, for example

CDEFGABC = Ionian mode
DEFGABCD = Dorian mode
EFGABCDE = Phrygian mode
FGABCDEF = Lydian mode
GABCDEFG = Mixolydian mode
ABCDEFGA = Aeolian mode
BCDEFGAB = Locrian mode

See also Accent Structure and Time Signature.

This bit of jargon has been viewed 4,960 times.

Blog Link Copy to Clipboard
What is this?

Return To Theory Jargon

Home | Add Jargon | F.A.Q | About | Contact
© 2020 JargonDatabase.com

Jargon Database is sponsored by Profit Awareness - discover your best clients, and get rid of your bad ones (Check out out business practices blog here)

Jargon Database was built by the best web development agency in Atlanta Georgia - Digital Tool Factory